The Four Quartets

Since its inception, The Classical Astrologer has been all about consciousness as expressed through astrological language and techniques. Astrology is a sacred and ancient language that many believe existed at the dawn of time. There are other mediums that afford us other dimensions of understanding. In the process, I have used visually evocative images and sometimes music. Poetry is another medium that raises us up to a higher understanding of the sublime.

Among the 20th Century Anglo/Irish writers T.S. Eliot, W.B. Yeats and Robert Graves stand as particularly eloquent and adept poets in conveying higher consciousness, were learned in not only the Western Classical Tradition but also Hindu writings and had significant contact with Indian writers such as Rabindranath Tagore. W.B. Yeats wrote an Introduction to The Upanishads.

Eliot references a dialogue between Krishna and Arjuna. He relates the mystical concept of time that shows us ultimately to be present at the same moment in consciousness: ” Time past and time future point to one end which is always present.”

He compares the circulation of the lymph with the stars. This came from the man whom Virginia Wolf said would soon be arriving his four-piece suit. I  hope you enjoy The Four Quartets read by the author as much as I have for all these years.

You can find a reliable online text here.

1 thought on “The Four Quartets

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.